10 radio personalities cited

BACOLOD City – Ten outstanding radio personalities and one radio program in Bacolod City were honored at the “4th Tingog kag Handurawan Awards” at the SMX Convention Center on Wednesday.

The awarding ceremony was part of the Gala Night of the 5th World Radio Day Celebration in Bacolod City, which was marked worldwide on Feb. 13, a press release from the Bacolod City government said.

The ceremony was spearheaded by the Kapisanan ng mga Brodkaster ng Pilipinas (KBP) – Negros Occidental Chapter, chaired by Fr. Jonas Sumagaysay (DYAF Radyo Veritas), with Serafin “Jopy” Plotria (94.3 iFM) as Awards Committee chairman.

The awardees were: Best Male Drama Artist—Winston Temblor (RMN- DYHB), Best Female Drama Artist— Caroline Diama (RMN-DYHB), Best Radio Show Host—Wilma Sugaton (DYEZ Aksyon Radyo), Reporter of the Year –Marlon Genovea (DYEZ Aksyon Radyo);

Anchorman of the Year— Serge Santillan (RMN-DYHB), Icon of Radio—Renato “Boy” Duran (DYEZ Aksyon Radyo), Most Admired Personality in Broadcast Engineering—Jose Maria Magalona (DYVS Voice of Salvation), Most Admired Personality in Drama Production— Liza Jane Andrada (RMN- DYHB);

Behind the Scene – Office Administration Category— Rocky Gumban (RMN DYHB), Most Admired Personality in Management—Jeony Bigay (RMN DYHB) and Best Radio Drama—“This is My Life” (DYEZ Aksyon Radyo).

The ceremony was attended by Bacolod City Administrator John Orola, who represented Mayor Evelio Leonardia, and Councilors Renecito Novero and Bartolome Orola.

Plotria said the awards aim to honor local broadcasters who have excelled in their craft, and to inspire those who follow in their footsteps to also strive for excellence.

Meanwhile, Orola also administered the oath of office of the incoming officers of KBP- Negros Occidental Chapters.

The officers are Fr. Jonas Sumagaysay-chairman, Paul Moles- vice chairman, Grace Visitacion–secretary, Nona Magbanua–treasurer, Loel Katalbas -auditor.

Standard Performance Officers are Serafin “Jopy” Plotria Jr., Jose Francisco Muñoz, and Edgar Lucasan.

Members of the Board of Directors are Clifford Nolido, Divine Grace Cuello, Mary Ann Flores, Jerry Mayordo, Jeony Bigay and Ferdinand Tan, while Joy Pastoral is executive secretary and  Roberto Pabulayan is marketing officer.

In January 2018, Leonardia had issued an executive order constituting the committee for the World Radio Day celebration in Bacolod, with Danny Dangcalan, acting head of the City Public Information Office, as the overall chairman.