Iloilo City winners proclaimed

ILOILO City Councilors-elect Lady Julie Grace Baronda, Rudolph Ganzon, Jay Treñas, Ely Estante, Rommel Duron (partly hidden), Alan Zaldivar, and Jojo Javellana celebrate their proclamation on May 14, 2019. (Emme Rose Santiagudo)

By: Emme Rose Santiagudo

THE Board of Canvassers headed by City Election Officer, Atty. Mavil Sia officially proclaimed elected officials in Iloilo City afternoon of May 14, 2019.

For the City Council, eight out of the 12 winners belonged to the camp of former congressional representative and now mayor-elect Jerry Treñas.

Incumbent councilors Lady Julie Grace L. Baronda and Armand S. Parcon clinched the two top spots with 131,126 votes and 105,912 votes respectively.

The son of Vice Mayor Jeffrey Ganzon, Rudolph Ganzon, placed third with 102,201 votes followed by incumbent councilors Candice Magdalane Tupas (98,457), Jose Efrain “Jay” Treñas III (98,712) and Ely Estante Jr. (89,755).

The other proclaimed winners are Atty. Rommel Duron (82,560), Allan Zaldivar (80,531), and Carlos Javellana (77,048).

Meanwhile, the last three spots were secured by incumbent councilors Lyndon Acap (74,065), Mandrei Malabor (69,987), and Eduardo Peñaredondo (67,914).

Acap, Tupas, Malabor, and Peñaredondo are allies of Mayor Jose Espinosa III. They were proclaimed separately at the Jubilee Hall where the canvassing board convened.

Incumbent Vice Mayor Jeffrey Ganzon of Timawa Party was also proclaimed winner after securing 119,112 votes.

Former city councilor Julienne L. Baronda was also proclaimed as the first lady congressional representative of Iloilo City after getting 115, 448 votes.

At around 2:45 a.m., Treñas was proclaimed mayor-elect after defeating his brother-in-law, incumbent Mayor Jose S. Espinosa III of the Nacionalista Party (NP) with a margin of 68,419 votes.