Town SK federation council election set today

By Rjay Zuriaga Castor

Newly-elected Sangguniang Kabataan (SK) chairpersons of each barangays will be electing their municipal level SK federation president today, November 14, the Department of Interior and Local Government-Iloilo said.

Carmelo F. Orbista, director of DILG-Iloilo, said that almost a hundred percent of the new SK chairpersons from 1,721 barangays in the 42 towns and 1 component city have completed their SK Mandatory Training (SKMT).

“Hundred percent na most probably. May ara nga mga local government units (LGU) nga three-days straight, different batches […] other LGUs also have their own strategies,” Orbista said in an interview on Monday.

He added that LGUs are fast-tracking the mandatory training of all SK chairpersons before the scheduled municipal level SK federation council elections on November 14.

SK kagawads (council members), meanwhile, still have until November 20 to undergo the SKMT.

The SKMT covers three modules with five sessions, addressing topics like decentralization, local governance, SK history, meetings and resolutions, planning and budgeting, and code of conduct.

In addition to the Proclamation Certificate from the Commission on Elections and oath of office, a certificate of SKMT issued by the Local Youth Development Council is a requirement for SK chairpersons before participating in the town-based federation council polls.

“Ang atun nga mga SK chairpersons dapat nakaundergo na gid sila SK mandatory training because that is a requirement before they can assume and before they can vote during the federation elections,” Orbista explained.

The federation will be composed of a president, vice president, secretary, treasurer, auditor, public relations officer, sergeant-at-arms and other officers deemed necessary by the council.

Orbista said the DILG and the provincial government are yet to discuss the schedule for the SK federation council election at the provincial level.

He, however, noted that the election must not be later than November 29.

“For the meantime, we will focus on the city and municipalities and then once we have the names already, we can send out the communications,” he added.

The provincial level council will be composed of all the elected SK federation presidents of the municipalities and the component city of the province.

Orbista said he has learned that a barangay in Cabatuan has no elected SK chairperson, and in such cases, the 1st SK kagawad will take over as mandated by law.

In Barangay Omambong, Leon, where no one filed for candidacy as SK chairperson and kagawad, a special election will be conducted.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here