UPV Women’s shuttlers rule 2020 RSCUAA badminton

The UPV badminton women squad together with their coaches (University of the Philippines Visayas FB)

By Leobert Julian A. de la Peña

The University of the Philippines Visayas women’s badminton squad were hailed as the 2020 Regional State Colleges and Universities Athletic Association champions.

Taking down the University of Antique and the Iloilo Science and Technology University (ISAT-U) during the elimination rounds, the lineup of Paula Teesha Suaboksan, Erica Nicole Jayme, Rhona Joy Tulio, and Martina Ann Marie Carmona battled through the competition to advance to the semifinals round.

Setting up a clash with the West Visayas State University during the semifinals, the UPV shuttlers cruised through and were able to fend off the resilient WVSU team.

In the finals, the UPV squad faced off against the powerhouse Carlos Hilado Memorial State College from Negros Occidental and with sheer will and determination, prevailed against them to clinch the RSCUAA championship.

The head coach of UPV women’s badminton is Hannah Liza Novesteros, assistant coach is Edgar “Totong” Ebro, and the team manager is Fermar Novilla.

Fresh from their Dinagyang Badminton Cup stint, the UPV squad was able to take advantage of their experience and earn the championship.