18 schools seek NBTC Iloilo crown

EIGHTEEN teams from Iloilo will see action as the National Basketball Training Center-Iloilo leg unfolds at the Western Institute of Technology (WIT) covered gym on Jan. 6, 2019.

The teams will be divided into four groups, with two brackets comprising of five schools and the other two with four squads each.

The teams include reigning champion Hua Siong College of Iloilo (HSCI) Red Phoenix, PAREF-Westbridge School (PWS), Iloilo Doctor’s College (IDC) and Santa Isabel College of Iloilo (SICI) in Group A.

Former regional champ St. Robert’s International Academy (SRIA) Panda Rockets will also try to regain their title. But the John Guanco-mentored Rockets will be facing a tough battle as they take on last year’s runner-up Santa Clarita International School (SCIS) Primes, Ateneo de Iloilo (AdI), St. Paul University Iloilo (SPUI), and Mandurriao National High School (MNHS) are in Group B.

Fresh from winning the Iloilo Province Goodwill Games last month, CenterPhil Montessori SilverKnights of Janiuay town is in Group C with Central Philippine University (CPU) Golden Lions, Sun Yat Sen High School (SYSHS), and Assumption School-Passi City (ASPC)

Group D is composed of John B. Lacson Foundation Maritime University (JBLFMU), Iloilo National High School (INHS), University of San Agustin (USA), and Filipino-American School Town (FAST).

The champion in the Iloilo qualifying leg will represent the province in the NBTC Regionals along with qualifiers from Capiz and Guimaras. Regional winner will earn the right to represent Western Visayas in the National Finals in Metro Manila.