20th San Agustin Writers Workshop now accepting applications

The Fray Luis de Leon Creative Writing Institute of the University of San Agustin College of Liberal Arts, Sciences and Education (CLASE) is now accepting applications for ten writing fellowships to the 20th San Agustin Writers Workshop to be held at the University of San Agustin on November 13-16, 2023.

The fellowships are mainly open to Western Visayan writers who are interested to learn more about the craft of poetry, short fiction, creative nonfiction, and literary criticism.

As in the past, one to two slots may be awarded to applicants who are not from Western Visayas. The workshop panel is composed of award-winning writers and critics, namely, John Iremil Teodoro, Ph.D., Isidoro M. Cruz, Ph.D., Alice Tan Gonzales, Ph.D., Noel Galon de Leon, Dulce Maria V. Deriada, and Criselda Yabes.

The Workshop Director is Noel G. de Leon. John Iremil Teodoro, who served as Workshop Director for 20 years and co-founded the San Agustin Writers Workshop with the late Jigger Latoza, will serve as Deputy Workshop Director.

May Anne T. Jaro and Isidoro M. Cruz serve as Project Director and Deputy Project Director, respectively. The workshop is conducted by CLASE under the supervision of Dean Nenelyn D. de la Fuente, Ph.D.

Interested applicants must submit electronic files of the following to 20thsaww@gmail.com:

(a) application letter addressed to the Workshop Director;

(b) completed online application form: https://forms.gle/GFcB1Ws1LeEWpQcKA [with scanned colored 2” x 2” picture, contact details (landline/cellphone number/email address), and curriculum vitae; for minors, parent/guardian’s consent for applicant to attend the workshop];

(c) letter of recommendation from a faculty member or school official or any established writer in the region; and

(d) one original manuscript sent as Word file (Times New Roman, 12 points, and double-spaced), which may either be one short story; a collection of three poems; one creative nonfiction; or one critical paper. Only one submission per author is allowed.

Literary works may be in Hiligaynon, Kinaray-a, Aklanon, Filipino or English. Only complete applications will be considered for the fellowships.

The deadline for application is September 10, 2023.

The names of the ten selected fellows who have confirmed their participation will be announced on October 10, 2023.

For inquiries, please email the Secretariat at 20thsaww@gmail.com.