Basketball Without Borders holds camp

The 2024 Basketball Without Borders (BWB) Global camp concluded on Sunday, Feb. 18 with the “Pacers” fittingly winning the Championship Game at the Mojo Up Sports Complex as part of NBA All-Star 2024 in Indianapolis, Indiana.

BWB Global 2024 brought together 40 of the top high-school-age prospects from 22 countries and territories across Africa, the Americas, Asia and Europe, with the Pacers featuring nine campers from Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, Japan, Lithuania, Senegal and South Sudan.

Throughout the weekend, campers got the opportunity to compete alongside and against their peers from around the world while learning from former NBA and WNBA players and coaches, including Indiana Pacers Legend Detlef Schrempf and Chicago Bulls Legend Joakim Noah.  The camp, which also serves as a platform for the prospects to showcase their talent in front of professional scouts and NBA team personnel, was attended by all 30 NBA teams.

The campers also took part in a life-skills sessions led by Schrempf and Noah, participated in a variety of basketball activities at NBA Crossover – an immersive fan event at the Indiana Convention Center in conjunction with NBA All-Star – and attended the NBA All-Star Game, where they watched former BWB Global camper and 2024 NBA All-Star Shai Gilgeous-Alexander (Canada; BWB Global 2016), among others.

NBA Academy Africa prospect Khaman Maluach (South Sudan) was named BWB Global 2024 Playoff MVP and Defensive MVP, William Riley (Canada) received the Kim Bohuny Camp MVP Award, and Jacob Furphy (Australia) received the Patrick Baumann Sportsmanship Award.

Please see below for a complete list of award winners.  Rosters and game results can be found  here and photos from the camp can be found here (photo attribution: ‘NBA Academy’).

BWB Global 2024

Kim Bohuny Camp MVP

  • William Riley (Canada)

Playoff and Defensive MVP

  • Khaman Maluach (South Sudan)*

Patrick Baumann Sportsmanship Award

  • Jacob Furphy (Australia)*


  • Shon Abaev (Israel)
  • Neoklis Avdalas (Greece)
  • Danny Carbuccia (Dominican Republic)
  • Savo Drezgic (Serbia)
  • Noa Essengue (France)
  • Kasparas Jakucionis (Lithuania)
  • Khaman Maluach (South Sudan)*
  • Hamad Mousa (Qatar)*
  • William Riley (Canada)
  • Nolan Traore (France)

Winning Team (Pacers)

  • Christian Anderson (Germany)
  • Enrico Vicentini Borio (Brazil)
  • Gustavo Guimaraes (Brazil)
  • Kasparas Jakucionis (Lithuania)
  • Khaman Maluach (South Sudan)*
  • Assane Mandian (Senegal)
  • William Riley (Canada)
  • Riku Segawa (Japan)
  • Nolan Traore (France)

*NBA Academy Student-Athlete