Columnist elected NPC president

The newly-elected officers of the Negros Press Club 2024-2025 headed by Erwin Ambo Delilan (5th from right).

BACOLOD City – A columnist was elected president of the Negros Press Club during its general assembly and election of officers at the NPC building, Saturday, January 20, 2024.

Erwin “Ambo” Delilan will be the 88th president of the oldest press club in the country.

Delilan said “This is really a clean victory. I knew I am unwanted by some of our fellow NPC members. But I promised to myself… to my family that I will do my best to be relevant to this club.”

Amid financial challenges that the NPC is facing right now, Delilan said he will look for other appropriate means to enliven the club anew.

“To be NPC president is not an easy journey. More so with the current challenges confronting the club. But one thing I can say is, I only have one honest intention – to work for the advancement-slash-welfare of all NPC members – no less, no more,” he added.

Delilan enjoined his fellow media practitioners “It’s time to raise our flag again!”

Delilan said he intends to revive the defunct NPC scholarship program for any direct kin of the club members who wish to take up mass communication courses in college.

“Quite challenging. But I will try my best to revive this scholarship program during my incumbency,” he said.

Delilan garnered 33 votes, winning over two other contenders – Romeo Subaldo of ABS-CBN and Digicast Negros, who got 22 votes; and Louie Chito Berjit of Atheletia Broadcasting – 13 votes.

Elected unopposed were Nida Buenafe, executive editor of Negros Now Daily as vice president, John Lourd Diaz of Aksyon Radyo as secretary and Nanette Guadalquiver of Philippine News Agency (PNA) as treasurer.

On the other hand, Nona Magbanua, station manager of Aksyon Radyo was elected auditor.

Elected as club directors are Mae Singuay of Panay News, Yves Montecillo of Radio Mindanao Network (RMN), Rey Siason of dyRL and Dolly Yasa of The Daily Guardian.

The newly elected officers will formally assume office on March 1.