Cutting-edge student research takes center stage at ISUFST Symposium

Iloilo State University of Fisheries Science and Technology (ISUFST) celebrated the achievements of its brightest minds at the 12th Systemwide Students’ Research Symposium, held on Friday, May 24, 2024, at the Main Campus-Poblacion Site, Barotac Nuevo, Iloilo.

Organized by the Research and Development Office led by Dr. Jescel Bito-onon in collaboration with the Office of the Vice President for Academic Affairs led by Dr. Joan Belga, the event highlighted the innovative research of undergraduate students from diverse academic disciplines.

Participants competed in five categories, showcasing their research acumen and creativity. In the Social Science, Education, and Humanities category, the team of Hannah Marie C. Failanza (Presenter) and Camilla P. de los Reyes took top honors. They were followed by Chlyredth Casaldan (Presenter), Mariecho Gonzales, Rhazzel Jade Beboso, Arn Firmeza, and Steve Justine Grecia in second place, and Mary Blanche Palmes (Presenter), Angel Faith Caldemon, Angel Faith Sojon, and Aviguel Buenavides in third.

In the Natural, Biological, and Environmental Science category, first place was awarded to Chrissie Anne Alcala (Presenter), Jay Ann Dumdumaya, Aivie Padohinog, Mahaleel Joy Cajelo, and Michael Cardoza. Second place was claimed by Steve Tanaleon (Presenter), Reiza Maria Balbastro, Riza Marie Babac, Femie Navarrete, and Edfel Deocades, with Zebedeo Ganado (Presenter) finishing third.

The Information and Industrial Technology category saw Francis Louie Brillantes (Presenter), Dimsue Romeo Dimaala, Rose Mae Dayatan, Excell Anota, Came Joy Donasco, Aljon Treyes, and Clares Da-anoy winning first place. Paul John Delos Reyes (Presenter), Dennis Gorriceta, Jay-ar Coronel, and Devina Diongson secured second place, while Kent Edward Janoya (Presenter), Winchill Serrano, Daisyre Molase, John Del Carmel, Nelson Shynn Buenafe, and Recamae Agoniza were third.

The Food Innovation category was dominated by Joshua Saul (Presenter), Joere Mae Guinsitao, Nathy Rose Araquil, Camille Kim Bayogos, and Eldione Patricia Demafelis. Julina Balinario (Presenter), Danica Mae Pabilona, Jomel Cartama, Lendy Banca, Ivan Lara, and Stephen Huelar followed as runners-up, with Via Krissel Pison (Presenter) in third place.

The Poster Presentation category winners were the team of Chrissie Anne Alcala, Jay Ann Dumdumaya, Aivie Padohinog, Mahaleel Joy Cajelo, and Michael Cardoza in first place, Stacy Pauline Haro (Presenter) in second, and the team of Chlyredth Casaldan, Mariecho Gonzales, Rhazzel Jade Beboso, Arn Firmeza, and Steve Justine Grecia in third, demonstrating their skill in communicating complex research visually.

VPAA Dr. Belga, in her opening remarks, emphasized the university’s dedication to fostering research culture, stating, “This symposium is a testament to our commitment to academic excellence and research innovation.”

Dr. Farisal U. Bagsit, Vice Chancellor for Administration at UPV, also commended the students’ efforts during his keynote speech, noting, “These research projects are not just academic exercises; they are potential gateways to real-world solutions.”

Esteemed judges and evaluators from varied categories included Prof. El Fred John Abacan, Dr. Michael Dizon, Prof. Rex Paul Ino, Dr. Farisal Bagsit, Mr. Rother Gaudiel, Dr. Roni Lo Aponte, Mrs. Rose Mueda, Mrs. Cheryl Gison, Prof. John Vincent Manalo, Mr. Alvin Patiam, Prof. Ara Ambita, Dr. Res Jandonero, Dr. Herman Lagon, Prof. Michle Celeste, and Instr. Jonard Verdeflor.

The event concluded with an award ceremony, setting the bar high for future research initiatives. The next research symposium, for graduate school students, is tentatively scheduled for June 1, 2024, at the same venue, promising another showcase of outstanding student research. (Text by Herman Lagon; Photos by Herman Lagon and Research and Development Office)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here