Dadivas is new Roxas City mayor

PROCLAMATION (from left) Roxas City Prosecutor Erwin Ignacio, mayor-elect Ronnie Dadivas, City Comelec officer Atty. Hazel Palencia and election board of canvassers secretary Joy Altoveros. (Felipe Celino)

By: Felipe V. Celino

ROXAS CITY, Capiz – The city elections board of canvasser (CEBC) has proclaimed the winners for local positions here.

Led by City Prosecutor Erwin Ignacio, the board of canvassers proclaimed former vice mayor and provincial legal officer Ronnie Dadivas of the Liberal Party (LP) as duly elected mayor after defeating former city disaster risk reduction and management officer Rommel Lastimoso.

Dadivas got 39,231 votes while Lastimoso, an independent candidate, garnered 35,116 votes.

Also proclaimed as vice mayor-elect was reelectionist Erwin Sicad, also of LP, who got 37,220. He defeated Number 1 City Councilor Powell del Rosario who got 35,522 votes.

The winners in the 10-member Sangguniang Panlunsod were San Jose village chief Jericho Angel Celino, Gabuan village chief John Paul Arcenas, Milibil village chief Midelo Ocampo, reelectionists Cesar Yap Jr. and Trina Almalbis-Ignacio, Cagay village chief Moreno Gonzaga, reelectionist Gary Potato, lawyer Paul Ivan Baticados, reelectionist Cora Balgos-Tiangco and last termer first district provincial board member Roberto Ignacio.