DBM: Govt allots P17.7B to support tourism infrastructure development

The government has infused more funds to its Tourism Road Infrastructure Program (TRIP) for a total of P17.689 billion under the 2023 General Appropriations Act (GAA).

The amount is P602 million higher than 2022 GAA of P17.087 billion for TRIP.

The funds will be used for the construction, reconstruction, upgrading, and improvement of roads and bridges connecting to declared tourist destinations.

Department of Budget and Management (DBM) Secretary Amenah F. Pangandaman underscored the importance of providing funding support to vital infrastructure projects, which serve as the backbone of the economy.

“President Ferdinand R. Marcos Jr. has been very consistent with his pronouncements that infrastructure development is a priority under this administration. And so we, at DBM, shall do all we can to support the realization of this objective. And so we ensured that various infrastructure projects nationwide are allocated with necessary funds to support the Build, Better, More program,” Secretary Pangandaman said.

“Mobility and connectivity are vital components in tourism development. The Philippines has so many majestic places. But how will we attract tourists if there is no transport infrastructure in place to get them to these destinations with ease?” Pangandaman said.

TRIP is a convergence initiative of the Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH) and the Department of Tourism (DOT).

The budgetary allocation is also in line with the DOT’s National Tourism Development Plan, which envisions a globally competitive, environmentally sustainable, and socially responsible tourism industry that promotes inclusive growth through employment generation and equitable distribution of income.

Under the 2023 GAA, the P17.689 billion budget will be distributed to tourism infrastructure projects in Region I (Ilocos), Cordillera Administrative Region, Cagayan Valley, Central Luzon, CALABARZON, MIMAROPA, Bicol Region, Western Visayas, Central Visayas, Eastern Visayas, Zamboanga Peninsula, Northern Mindanao, Davao, SOCCSKSARGEN, and Caraga.