Iloilo Girl Scouts induct new officers

By Mariela Angella Oladive

The Iloilo Girl Scout Council inducted its new Council Board Officers for the 2024-2027 term and presented the Triennial Awards for the 2021-2024 term on June 8, 2024 at Casa Real de Iloilo.

Governor Arthur Defensor Jr. officiated the induction ceremony by administering the oath to the new officers.

The newly inducted Council Board Officers are:

  • Council President: Josefa Luz “Joy” C. de Leon
  • Vice President for Field: Dr. Amelia C. Pitalgo
  • Vice President for Fund Development: Mrs. Cosette R. Defensor
  • Vice President for International Participation: Mrs. Gudelia V. Coo
  • Secretary: Mrs. Helen Grace D. Zaldivar
  • Assistant Secretary: Mrs. Glenda C. Tanchuan
  • Treasurer: Ms. Arlene Apud
  • Assistant Treasurer: Ms. Charisma M. Alagao
  • Auditor: Ret. Supt. Ida B. Endonila
  • Commissioner on Program: Ms. Merrily Jane Pedroso
  • Commissioner on Training: Mrs. Helen H. Deguma
  • Council Executive: Marie Claire E. Laru-an

Life Members include Mrs. Ruth Tirol Jarantilla, Dr. Lucy B. Catalogo, Retired Schools Superintendent Ida B. Endonila, and Mrs. Gudelia V. Coo.

In his address, Governor Defensor reaffirmed his commitment to supporting the programs and initiatives of the Council.

He acknowledged his mother, a former first lady of Iloilo province, Mrs. Cosette Defensor, who serves as a life member of the Council and as the Vice President for Fund Development.

“I reaffirm the province’s full support. Feel free to approach my office anytime,” Defensor stated.

He also urged the Girl Scouts of the Philippines (GSP) to collaborate more closely with the government. “We want to engage you, especially in our upcoming initiatives.”

The Council also honored the outgoing Board Officers for their hard work over the past three years, each receiving a Girl Scout figurine.

They also recognized their partners with the Triennial Awards, including Daily Guardian, for its role as a media partner in disseminating information about the Council’s programs and activities.

Notable guests and partners in attendance included municipal Mayors Milliard Villanueva of Concepcion and Darwin Bajada of San Dionisio, Lt. Colonel Jessie Rose B. Austria CE (Acting Commanding Officer of the 552nd ECB 53RD EBDE, PA); Lt. Colonel Ryan S. Matutina (PA Director 604 CDC); Major Cristina Rivera (AGS) PA, Personnel Officer of the 301st Infantry Brigade; as well as public school district supervisors and school heads.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here