Iloilo snags 48 medals in WVPRISAA taekwondo tilt

Ilonggo ruled the taekwondo events of the ongoing Western Visayas Private Schools Athletic Association (WVPRISAA) in Bacolod City, Negros Occidental, March 5.

Iloilo netted 30 gold, 12 silver, and six bronze medals.

In the the secondary division, the following won gold medals in Individual Poomsae –  Roivic John Decafe, John Patrick Palonpon, Cindy Joy Diasnes, Jioane Marie Ferolin, June Draico Gantalao, and Alfie Diasnes.

Silver finishers in Individual Poomsae event are Ateneo de Iloilo jins Elaine Margaret Borres and Ahsley Delos Reyes. Kean Ryth Bornazal and Sophia Marie Tungala and Zachary Aguirre with partner Kaycee Ann Rendaje snagged gold in Mixed Pair event.

Iloilo also swept all Poomsae events. The Gold medalists are Kean Ryth Bornazal, Roivic John Decafe, and John Patrick Palonpon; Sophia Marie Tungala, Cindy Joy Diasnes, and Elaine Margaret Borres; Alfie Diasnes, June Draico Gantalao, and Zachary Aguirre; and Ashley Delos Reyes, Kaycee Ann Rendaje, and Jioane Ferolin.

In the tertiary level, Kyorugi jins also topped the competition led by gold medalists Jieben Lark Recabar, Adriano Horlador III, Jed Roen Roncal, Pave Rynel Bero, Clarence Jotham Gancero, Jean Kristine Doce, Ma. Jessa Paz Ortega, Cara Nicole Vidallon, Cyril Aguirre, Sanra Lizardo, Lawrence Marasigan, Geraldine French Mosquera, Geraldine Diana, and Regina Abello.

St. Robert’s International Academy’s Ronald Kyle Pico and Angela Marie Joy Bermejo also reached the national finals after grabbing gold medals in the secondary category. Joshua Glenn Grecia and Rynne Sotomil added one gold each for the Iloilo-based squad.

Kyorugi silver medalists are Rommer Sumande and Charmae Sarduma for the tertiary; and Pearl Dyne Lisao, Hans Oliver Jardio, Rafael Lloyd Pico, Jed Morata, Elisha Venice Aguilar, Katrina Mamaril, Mervonne Shayne Nicor, and Lance Izaak Fermiza. The bronze medalists are Joshua Dumaguing, Vance Gabriel Priare, Scarlet Valencia, Kyte Descutido, Aldriene Earl Horlador, and JN Robles.

The team is trained by coaches Jojo Castro, Alan Diasnes, Ryan Tachado, Floramie Navales, Denmark Pinggol, Christer John Gersanib, Quinn Pauline Hermogoso, and Angelo Osayda.