Kaya FC-Iloilo demolishes Maharlika Taguig for third straight PFL win

Another match, another win! (KAYA Futbol Club Facebook)

By Leobert Julian A. de la Peña

The Kaya FC-Iloilo’s high-octane surge in the ongoing Philippines Football League (PFL) season is still on full display after putting on a demoralizing 10-1 beat down of the Maharlika Taguig FC on April 21, 2024, at the Rizal Memorial Football Stadium.

Fresh off two convincing victories over rival football club United City FC in their debut match and Don Bosco for their second win, Kaya FC is now at the top of the leaderboard after picking up its third consecutive win.

It was all Kaya FC from the get-go as their tremendous and fluid offensive sets proved to be too much for Maharlika.

Janjan Melliza, Kaya FC’s Ilonggo star, scored the first goal for Iloilo after finding the back of the net off a well-placed through ball pass in the center of the penalty area.

Despite Maharlika scoring their lone goal in the first half that kept the game close for a while, Kaya FC countered back with a barrage of conversions that widened the gap heading into the next 45 minutes.

Delivering goals for Kaya FC in the first half aside from Melliza were Japanese forward Shuto Komaki and young ace Jarvey Gayoso.

In the second half, Kaya FC completely neutralized Maharlika’s scoring chances after putting emphasis on their defensive execution.

Eager to lock them down and limit their final goal to just one, the Iloilo-based football club didn’t give them any room to breathe and capped off the win with a majestic defensive performance.

Putting the cherry on top for Kaya FC with more goals in the last 45 minutes were Melliza, Marco Casambre, Audi Menzi, and Eric Esso.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here