Panasonic scholarship hones new breed of leaders

PANASONIC granted scholarships to 20 deserving university and vocational students during the 2019 Panasonic Scholarship Asia awarding ceremony held recently at Panasonic Manufacturing Philippines Corporation (PMPC), Taytay, Rizal.

The scholarship program is one of the manifestations of the company’s vision of pursuing a better life for each individual customer with its various partners, and realizing a better world through its contributions to the environment and other activities, including the Panasonic Scholarship Asia program.

The ceremony was led by Panasonic Corporation (PC) Groupwide Brand Communications Division leader for CSR & Citizenship Department Haruhisa Okuda, and PMPC president Masatoshi Sasaki.

Other guests, who graced the occasion included Pamantasan ng Cabuyao (PnC) president Isabel F. Inlayo; University of Rizal System (URS)-Morong campus director Allan E. Conde; URS College of Engineering dean Francis B. Culibrina;  Bulacan State University (BSU) scholarship office head Elinita P. Galvez; Dualtech Training Center (DTC) community relations manager Rodolfo V. Sta. Ana III; Don Bosco College (DBC)-Canlubang technical affairs assistant director Erwin Go;  Don Bosco Technical Institute (DBTI)- Makati external relations officer Armando Z. Marquez; Don Bosco Technical College (DBTC)-Mandaluyong TVET technical director Joseph C. Abillada; PMPC executive director Masaru Toyota; PMPC executive director Yoshiyuki Takahashi; PMPC center sub-head Satoshi Chujo; PMPC BD sub-head Edwardo  S. Alegrid; PMPC center sub-head Julieta D. Beltran; and PMPC center sub-head Homer P. Ponesto.

The 20 new Panasonic scholars are:

Undergraduate Category

Mr. Kevin A. Balatico (PnC-Marketing Management); Miss Jazzrine A. Tagle (University of the Philippines-Diliman-Eletronics and Communications Engineering); Mr. Ian Jester B. Jose (URS Morong-Mechanical Engineering); Mr. Agustin P. Lacre Jr. (URS Morong-Mechanical Engineering); Miss Heidilyn B. Sampaga (URS Morong-Electronics Engineering); Miss Ma. Elena I. Guanlao (BSU-Accounting Technology); Mr. Ronaldo M. Velilla Jr. (BSU-Accounting Technology); and Miss Gian Bianca F. Vergara (BSU-Accounting Technology).


Vocational Category 

Mr. Ronald O. Atienza (DTC-Electro-Mechanical Technology);  Mr. John Mark G. Cabilan (DTC-Electro-Mechanical Technology); Mr. Zandro A. Fernandez (DTC-Electro-Mechanical Technology);  Mr. Roy B. Manangkil (DTC – Electro-Mechanical Technology); Mr. Reymon Tigbabao (DTC-Electro-Mechanical Technology); Mr. Rommel S. Abris (DBC Canlubang-Machining); Mr. Mark  Jerald Calisura (DBC Canlubang-Shielded Metal Arc Welding); Mr. Jhon Moises M. Penasbo (DBC Canlubang-Shielded Metal Arc Welding); Mr. Lance Kobe A. Apilado (DBTC-Madaluyong-General Electrician); Mr. Milestone B. Bautista (DBTC Mandaluyong-Technical Industrial Electronics ); Mr. Robert John S. Boñon (DBTC Mandaluyong-General Electrician; and Mr. Ryan C. Tubalinal (DBTI Makati-Electro-Mechanical Technology).

The new scholars were chosen after passing series of interviews, and assessment of their over-all performance as students along with the expectation that they will make use of their scholarship not only for their personal gain, but also for their contribution to the progress and development of society by becoming good leaders in their chosen field.