Peñalosa fails to clinch IBO flyweight title

Carlo Peñalosa’s deep cut in his eye led to a stoppage in the 8th round, losing the match. (Photo courtesy of Alvin S. Go/Rappler)

By: Leobert Julian A. de la Peña

Filipino Carlo Peñalosa failed to claim the vacant International Boxing Organization flyweight title against Mexican Maximo Flores after the match was stopped heading into the eighth round.

Due to an accidental head butt, Peñalosa’s right eyelid was badly cut and injured as the wound kept on bleeding the whole time.

After the seventh round, the referee called the ring doctor to assess Peñalosa’s eye, and upon further checking, they’ve decided to stop the match to avoid further damage.

Judges scored the bout 67-66 Peñalosa, 67-66 and 68-67 in favor of Flores with a split technical decision win.

Flores throughout the match stalked and applied pressure to Peñalosa, taking advantage of his edge in the reach department.

Peñalosa had moments in the match but the combinations were just not there for him, as he looked for the one punch that can shatter Flores down but nothing connected.