Philippine volleyball unveils ‘Alas Pilipinas’ branding

The Philippine national volleyball teams are now called “Alas Pilipinas.” (Handout photo)

The Philippine National Volleyball Federation (PNVF) announced the new national team name, “Alas Pilipinas,” during its recent partnership event with Cignal in Mandaluyong City.

The federation also revealed the rosters for both the men’s and women’s teams, which will compete under this new moniker starting with the upcoming AVC Challenge Cup for Women from May 22 to 29 at the historic Rizal Memorial Coliseum.

PNVF president Ramon “Tats” Suzara expressed enthusiasm about the rebranding.

“We’re delighted to kickstart this new chapter for Philippine volleyball by unveiling Alas Pilipinas, our new names for the national teams both in indoor and beach, for both men and women. We’re humbled with the outpouring support that volleyball has garnered over the past few years and believe it’s high time for us to rally on one singular name for our national teams,” Suzara said.

The women’s team roster features Premier Volleyball League (PVL) stars Eya Laure and Sisi Rondina, with Japan-based setter Jia de Guzman leading the squad. Additional PVL players Vanie Gandler, Dawn Catindig, Cherry Nunag, Dell Palomata, Fifi Sharma, Jen Nierva, and Faith Nisperos will join them.

University Athletic Association of the Philippines (UAAP) standouts Angel Canino, Julia Coronel, Thea Gagate, and Casiey Dongallo will also don the national colors, along with National University stars Bella Belen and Alyssa Solomon, pending their availability post-UAAP Finals.

For the men’s squad, key players include Marck Espejo, Bryan Bagunas, and Josh Ybanez, alongside a large ensemble of seasoned and upcoming athletes, highlighting the federation’s efforts to strengthen both men’s and women’s volleyball through unified branding and team development.

The PNVF has designated the PVL to manage the women’s national team selection, training, and participation in international competitions, marking a pivotal shift in how the team is managed.

This decision was finalized during the federation’s board meeting on April 12 at Seda Nuvali during the FIVB Beach Pro Tour in Santa Rosa City.

Jorge Edson de Brito, a Brazilian coach assigned by the FIVB, will lead the women’s national team.

The AVC Challenge Cup will feature teams from Kazakhstan, Iran, Chinese Taipei, Vietnam, Australia, Hong Kong, Singapore, Indonesia, and India, setting the stage for a highly competitive tournament.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here