PHLPost Area IV unveil stamps to mark golden anniversary of Laurel Batangas

MANILA – In celebration of the 50th founding anniversary of the Municipality of Laurel in Batangas province, the Philippine Postal Corporation (PHLPost) Southern Luzon Area IV launched the personalized stamps featuring the town’s historic and famous places.

Celebrating the theme, “Kalahating Siglo ng Paglalakbay Tungo Sa Pag-unlad at Tunay na Pagbabago… Laurel Bayan Ko, ANG GALING MO!” the stamps were unveiled in fitting ceremonies highlighting the occasion.

The town of Laurel was formerly known as Barrio Bayuyungan (derived from the word “Bayong”) which means a native bag made from the leaves of buri palm.

Mayor Randy James E. Amo of the Municipality of Laurel led the launching of the personalized stamps together with Municipal Administrator Engr. Ciriaco Calinisan, PHLPost Batangas Cluster Supervisor Emlyn C. Ticzon, and Acting Postmaster of Laurel Batangas Mr. Melvin Calauag.

PHLPost announced that the personalized stamps feature the beautiful sceneries, historical structures and places of the town of Laurel.

Also present during the launching were PHLPost Area 4 Chief of Marketing Section Ms. Nena J. Panganiban, Mr. Christian Gio Cosa (Assistant Market Specialist), and Mr. Eleuterio Castillo, Postmaster of Tanauan Post Office.

The postal service has stressed the importance of the stamps in promoting and protecting the historical places and structures for the next generation to appreciate and benefit from it.

The stamps feature the Municipal building of Laurel, Taal Volcano, Malagaslas Falls, and Ambon-ambon falls.

The Municipality of Laurel golden anniversary personalized stamps are now available at the Laurel Post Office and in Municipal Hall of Laurel in Batangas.