Power firms are top corporate taxpayers in Iloilo City

Atty. Antonio J. Cabalhug Jr. (3rd from left), First Vice President-Panay Site Head of PEDC and PPC, receives the recognition from the Iloilo City government headed by Mayor Jerry Treñas (second from left). (Photo courtesy of Mai Montelijao)

Subsidiaries of Global Business Power Corp. (GBP) under the Meralco PowerGen Corp. (MGen) umbrella and Iloilo City’s sole power distributor were hailed as the top taxpayers in 2021.

Panay Energy Development Corporation (PEDC) was the No. 1 real property taxpayer of the city followed by Panay Power Corporation or PPC (No. 4), and Avon River Power Holdings (No. 9).

Panay Power was also the No. 10 top Corporation Taxpayer for the year 2021 for Business.

The three firms were recognized during the Mayor’s Dinner at the Iloilo Convention Center in celebration of Iloilo City’s 85th Charter Day anniversary.

PEDC owns and operates 164 MW and 150 MW clean coal-fired plants in Lapaz, Iloilo City that utilize the Circulating Fluidized Bed (CFB) boiler technology.

PPC has a 75-MW plant facility and a 20 MW plant facility also in Iloilo City.

In response, Atty. Antonio J. Cabalhug Jr., First Vice President-Panay Site Head of PEDC and PPC, said “Panay Energy Development Corporation, a subsidiary of MGEN GBP, has been one of the top real property tax payers of Iloilo city under the corporation category; and in the coming years, we will continue to fulfill our obligation and support to the City’s endeavors through a strong partnership.”

MORE Electric and Power Corp is also the 8th top corporate taxpayer in the city.

List of Top Taxpayers in Iloilo City:


  1. Panay Energy Development Corporation
  2. Megaworld Corporation
  3. SM Prime Holdings Corporation
  4. Panay Power Corporation
  5. Heva Management Dev’t Corporation
  6. Philippine Foremost Milling Corporation
  7. Robinsons Land Corporation
  8. MORE Electric and Power Corporation
  9. Avon River Power Holdings Corporation
  10. Travelers International Hotel Group, Inc.



  1. SPS. Romeo Go and Jill Go
  2. SPS. Lynn S. Kho and James Kho
  3. SPS. Theodore M. Valderrama and Eufemia Wilmett Wuthrich Valderrama
  4. SPS. Marcelino M. Florete Jr. and Susan C. Florete
  5. Vicky Yap and SPS. Winston Vicente Yu Yap and Genivie Servidad Yap
  6. Wu Bing Huai
  7. SPS. Emilio S. Diez and Gina D. Diez
  8. Marilyn Uy Ong
  9. Robert U. Po
  10. SPS Tomas Cheng Chua and Sonita Uy Cheng Chua