Seville has most number of ordinances passed

(Photo Courtesy of Liecel Mondejar-Seville / Facebook)

By: Gerome Dalipe

OUTGOING second district Provincial Board (PB) Member Liecel Mondejar-Seville authored the most number of legislative measures among the seven outgoing Iloilo Provincial Government lawmakers.

Seville authored about 18 ordinances that were approved by the 12th Iloilo Provincial Board.
Her approved ordinances include the Iloilo Province Smoke-Free Generation Ordinance of 2017 and the Iloilo Province Code of Parental Responsibility of 2017.

Seville and seven other Provincial Board members will vacate their offices noon of June 30.

Seville and outgoing Board Members Demetrio Sonza, Lorenz Defensor, Emmanuel Gallar, Bryant Paul Biron, Nielo Tupas, Jeneda Salcedo-Orendain, and Licurgo Tirador were honored for their contributions to the PB during their last session on Tuesday.

Board Member-elect Marcelo Valentine Serag followed Seville with 14 approved ordinances.
These include the Ordinance Reorganizing and Strengthening the Provincial Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Office of Iloilo and the Ordinance Adopting “It Has to Be Iloilo” As the Province’s official tourism tagline.

Board Member Marcelo Valentine Serag also passed 14 ordinances, while outgoing Board Member Lorenz Defensor has authored 11 provincial laws.

Lawyer Raul Tiosayco, Jr., the Provincial Board’s secretary, said the 12th Iloilo Provincial Board has passed about 61 ordinances and 2, 155 resolutions.

Tiosayco also acknowledged the passage of the Iloilo Province Local Code for Children and the Iloilo Tourism Code of 2017, which were both authored by Vice-Gov. Christine “Tingting” Garin.

Apart from Serag and Valencia, the Board Members-elect who will assume their posts on Monday, July 1, are Rolito Cajilig, June Mondejar, Matt Palabrica, Jason Gonzales, Rolando Destura, Domingo Oso Jr., Carol Espinosa-Diaz, and Nielito Tupas.