Three Aklan towns declare state of calamity

By Rjay Zuriaga Castor

At least three towns in the province of Aklan have declared a state of calamity due to the effects of the ongoing El Niño phenomenon and the dry season.

The three towns include Ibajay, which declared a state of calamity on April 22, Buruanga on May 6, and the latest being Kalibo on May 22.

Kalibo’s declaration cited extreme weather conditions affecting the operations of the Metro Kalibo Water District (MKWD), which has experienced a decrease in water supply due to lower water levels in the Aklan River.

The MKWD previously stated that in early March, El Niño had contributed to the decline in their water supply, reaching as low as 1,000 cubic meters per day.

Engr. Alexys Apolonio, head of the Provincial Agriculture Office, previously told Daily Guardian that they are closely monitoring the situation and preparing to recommend a province-wide declaration of a state of calamity.

The latest data from the Regional Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council showed that production losses in Aklan amounted to P36 million, affecting a total of 4,111 farmers and fisherfolk.

The Department of Social Welfare and Development has extended P7.6 million worth of assistance to nine towns, including Altavas, Banga, Buruanga, Lezo, Madalag, Makato, Malinao, New Washington, and Tangalan.