WIT secures back-to-back JB ABL School Wars College Alumni championship title

Congratulations, WIT! Back-to-back champions! (Leobert Julian A. de la Peña)

By Leobert Julian A. de la Peña

The Western Institute of Technology (WIT) are once again the kings of the JB Amateur Basketball League (JB ABL) School Wars College Alumni category after protecting its twice-to-beat championship series advantage against the Iloilo Doctor’s College (IDC) on June 4, 2024.

After a neck-and-neck affair against the resilient IDC alumni squad, WIT flipped the switch in the second half and just had more firepower to win the championship, 72-61.

Alvin  Bennecio, one of the premier guards in town, spearheaded WIT’s high-octane offense after firing 21 big points to be crowned the JB ABL School Wars II Finals Most Valuable Player (MVP).

It was IDC who was still in the driver’s seat for several minutes in the first half as they were able to hang on to a five-point lead courtesy of their consecutive three-pointers but after a counter run from WIT when they pounded their way in the interior, the complexion of the game changed heading into the third canto.

With the likes of Cris Loyola, Mark Ceniza, and Epoy Bellones, and Jhepoy Balleza anchoring WIT’s shaded lane, the IDC offense in the second half started to slow down.

The result of WIT’s improved defense rewarded them with several freebies from the fast break, led by Bennecio and their other quick guards who were always running the floor.

When IDC attempted to level the game in the last two minutes of the third, WIT dropped another hammer as they closed the frame with an 8-2 scoring advantage, clinching a double-digit lead heading into the fourth.

This is then where Bennecio took over as he caught IDC’s defensive schemes with his quick cut actions to the basket.

His teammates then rewarded him with sweet passes which he converted when he soared for a series of layups that protected WIT’s lead until the final buzzer sounded.

IDC managed to trim their deficit to just seven points with still 1:23 remaining in the game but       two more deuces from WIT secured their second JB ABL School Wars title.

This conference, WIT capped off its championship title run with an undefeated regular season record and just proved to be the most dominant college alumni team in the league.

“Thank you gd sa WIT and IDC. My utmost respect to both schools for joining JB ABL, salamat sa ginoo wala major injuries, tawhay gd nga natapos ang aton game. Time to rest. And hopefully, if everything will fall into place, we will have another season of our School Wars installment,” said JB ABL founder and commissioner Jayphet Balbacal.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here