Women in News honor Leaders in Journalism

Three distinguished newsroom leaders from Africa, the Arab region, and Southeast Asia have been named the 2024 Laureates of the Women in News Editorial Leadership Award, recognizing their exceptional contributions to journalism and their commitment to advancing gender equality.

Nan Paw Gay, Director and Editor-in-Chief of the Karen Information Center in Myanmar, has been named the Laureate for Southeast Asia. Leading an exiled media organization based on the Thailand-Myanmar border, Paw Gay has played a pivotal role in maintaining press freedom during a critical period in Myanmar’s political history. Despite living in exile, she has secured spaces for journalists to report freely and helped ethnic media outlets in Myanmar uphold journalistic standards. She has been recognized for addressing taboo topics, such as the use of sexual violence as a weapon of war against women.

“Being named a Laureate of the WIN Editorial Leadership Award is both humbling and empowering. It serves as a reminder of the importance of independent journalism in fostering accountability and democracy. I am grateful for this recognition and remain committed to upholding the highest ethical standards in our industry,” Paw Gay said.

The award, now in its 10th year, also honors Beatrice Bandawe, Managing Editor of The Guardian Limited in Tanzania, as the Laureate for the Africa Region, and Dima Khatib, Managing Director of AJ+ for Palestine/Syria, as the Laureate for the Arab Region.

“These remarkable newsroom leaders have exemplified exemplary dedication to journalistic excellence, serving as inspiring role models and catalysts for positive change in their countries and beyond,” said Vincent Peyregne, CEO of WAN-IFRA.

The Women in News Editorial Leadership Award recognizes outstanding women editors who have demonstrated exceptional leadership in their newsrooms and are committed to advancing gender equality in journalism. The Laureates are selected by the Women in News Global Steering Committee based on their commitment to editorial excellence, gender equality, and supporting the next generation of media leaders.

“Through their commitment to fostering young talent and their success in bringing diverse perspectives to their storytelling, our 2024 Laureates have made their newsrooms more inclusive while building trust among their audiences, two crucial ingredients for the long-term sustainability of any media,” said Melanie Walker, WAN-IFRA Executive Director for Media Development and WIN.

The three Laureates will be recognized at WAN-IFRA’s World News Media Congress, taking place in Copenhagen, Denmark, from May 27-29, 2024. For more: https://womeninnews.org/the-women-in-news-editorial-leadership-award/