69th Palanca Awards names winners

Literary excellence took the spotlight once again as winning authors of the 69th Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards for Literaturewere honored recently at the Peninsula Manila in Makati City.

A total of 56 writers, 32 of which are first-time awardees, were chosen as this year’s recipients. Two of the authors each bagged prizes in two separate categories, with one being a first-time winner. Additionally, decorated writer Lamberto E. Antonio was inducted into the prestigious Palanca Hall of Fame for winning his fifth First Prize Award this year.

The foundation also presented a posthumous award to Mrs. Milagros Palanca-Furer, who is the proponent of the Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards for Literature. She was instrumental in helping spur creative writing in the country and is being rightfully recognized for her unwavering dedication to the interest of the Filipino writer.

With the bi-annual Novel and Nobela categories open this year, the total number of writing categories awarded was 22. All winning entries were evaluated and chosen by an elite roster of literary personalities from various fields.

Dr. Cristina Pantoja-Hidalgo was the Guest of Honor and Speaker at this year’s awarding ceremony. A multi-awarded writer and recipient of three Palanca Awards, including the Grand Prize for Novel, Dr. Hidalgo is one of the nation’s most respected literary figures and a mentor and inspiration to some of the most prolific young writers today.

Named after businessman and philanthropist Don Carlos Palanca Sr., the Palanca Awards continuously seeks to cultivate Philippine Literature by providing incentives for writers and serving as a treasury of these literary gems. It is considered the gold standard in writing excellence, highlycoveted by Filipino writers, young and old alike.

Following is the list of winners of the 69th Palanca Awards: