The Iloilo City Government will give recognition to exemplary Ilonggos who have excelled in various fields, created an impact in the community, and contributed significantly to the progress being experienced by the metro.

“As part of this year’s Charter Day celebration, we find it fitting that we honor our fellow Ilonggos who have brought pride to our city all these years,” Mayor Jerry P. Treñas said.

The theme for the 86th Iloilo City Charter Anniversary is “Trailblazing Ilonggos leading the way to sustainable progress”, a fitting tribute to 10 carefully selected individuals who have made a mark both locally and internationally.

The award, dubbed as Ten Outstanding Ilonggos of Iloilo City (TOIIC), will be given during the highlight of the Charter Day celebration on August 25.

The following are named as this year’s TOIIC: Manuel Librodo Jr., Carmela Española, Ruth Jarantilla, Edwin Bautista, Mary Ann Gumban, Cezar Consing, Jessica Dator-Bercilla, Edwin Valencia, Leila Valencia, and Jhett Tolentino.

A Committee made the selection based on the advocacy; community service/leadership; recognition/awards received; academic and professional achievement; and inspirational/sustained excellence.

Each awardee will receive a special trophy from the Iloilo City Government. (Iloilo City PIO)