Radioman to lead Negros Press Club

The members of the election committee chaired by Renato “Boy” Duran (5th from left) proclaim the new set of officers of the Negros Press Club (NPC) for 2023-2024 led by Bryan Morden (4th from left), during its annual general assembly and election at NPC building in Bacolod City Saturday. (Photo courtesy of Andy Alvarez)

By Glazyl Y. Masculino and Dolly Yasa

BACOLOD City – The Negros Press Club (NPC) elected its new set of officers for 2023-2024 during its annual general assembly and election at the NPC building here on Saturday, Jan. 21.

Bryan Morden, station manager of XFM 96.7 Bacolod, which is a 10-month-old radio station here, was elected president. He was also a former anchorman of DyEZ Aksyon Radyo Bacolod.

Morden garnered 36 votes, defeating outgoing vice president Rey Siason with 30 votes, and Erwin Delilan with 24 votes.

Morden thanked all the NPC members who took time to vote despite their busy schedules. He also thanked them for giving him the chance to lead the club.

When asked about his plans for the club, Morden said he has many for the organization, such as continuously providing medical assistance for the members, particularly for their maintenance, and laboratory, among others.

He said he will try to do it even if NPC is an independent organization which does not generate much to sustain the needs of the sick members.

He will also conduct outreach programs in collaboration with other organizations, schools, and even with the government.

He said he will also hold ball games exclusive for the members only.

“Bilang new president niyo, I can’t promise, but pamuno-an ko ang NPC nga may padulongan kag pag-angat sang integrity kag dignity with the support ninyo nga mga members,” Morden said.

Merlinda Pedrosa of Sunstar Bacolod was elected vice-president, with 42 votes, defeating outgoing director Jun Gaton with 28 votes, and Rox Estrella with 24 votes.

Elected unopposed for secretary and auditor were Prime Tejida of DyHB RMN Bacolod, and Elsie Jolingan of RPN DyKB Bacolod, respectively.

Max Macahilo of Negros Weekly was elected treasurer, garnering 38 votes, defeating outgoing treasurer Henceboy Cestina with 34 votes.

For directors, elected were Jemlo Victosa of DYHB RMN Bacolod with 56 votes, Mae Singuay of Panay News, with 48 votes, Marchel Espina of Sunstar Bacolod, with 43 votes, and Alvin Grava of Aksyon Radyo Bacolod, with 38 votes.

Outgoing president Aquilino “Boy” Ciocon will serve as ex-officio under Morden’s leadership.

The election committee was chaired by past president Renato “Boy” Duran, with members – past presidents Modesto Sa-onoy, Glazyl Masculino, Eddie Dela Fuente, and Chrysee Samillano.

Established in 1936, NPC is the oldest press club in the Philippines.

In the same general assembly, the members also approved a resolution increasing the yearly dues from P120 to P500.

This has to be paid before the end of each year and will be effective in 2023.

Another resolution approved in the general assembly is to include members working in legitimate online media outfits as regular members of the club.